Music News

Public Enemy unveils track list to forthcoming Def Jam album, 'What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down?'

Eitan Miskevich

Public Enemy has dropped the star-studded track list for their upcoming album, What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down?

The record marks the legendary hip-hop collective’s return to Def Jam Records, the iconic label they helped build and that launched the successful careers of members Chuck D, Flavor Flav and DJ Lord.

Fueled by 17 tracks, What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down? features a few newcomers to Def Jam’s roster and other artists who once called Def Jam family, including Run-DMC, Ice-T, PMD and more, as well as Mike D and Ad-Rock from the Beastie Boys.  

George Clinton will be featured on the first two tracks, “When the Grid Goes Down” and “Grid,” which also brings in Cypress Hill and “State of the Union (STFU),” produced by DJ Premier.

This will be the group’s first album under Def Jam in more than 20 years, and the follow-up to PE’s 2017 album Nothing is Quick in the Desert. 

Public Enemy recently dropped a music video for their single “Fight the Power: Remix 2020,” an updated version to their 1989 classic. Featuring Nas, Rapsody, Black Thought, YG, Jahi and Questlove, the group first premiered the song during an explosive performance the 2020 BET Awards in June.

What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down? arrives on September 25th and is available now for pre-order, along with an exclusive merchandise line at

By Rachel George
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.