Music News

New Music Friday: Drake, Soulja Boy, Anderson .Paak and Bobby Shmurda

Drake Certified Lover Boy album cover-Republic Records

Friday was highlighted by the release of the most anticipated album of the year, Drake‘s Certified Lover Boy, which finally dropped after months of delay. The follow-up to Drake’s five-times-platinum 2018 album, Scorpion, includes 21 tracks. The star-studded project features Jay-Z, Travis Scott, Rick Ross, Future, Young Thug, Lil Wayne, Lil Baby, Lil Durk, Ty Dolla $ign, Kid Cudi21 Savage and many more.

Like Drake, Soulja Boy also is feuding with Kanye West, and earlier this week Draco blasted Yeezy in a marathon Twitter Rage. He’s accusing West of erasing his verse from the song “Remote Control” on the Donda album after telling Soulja Boy that he loved it.

Now the “Crank That” rapper, who has over 60 mixtapes, has dropped another mix project, titled Swag 4. He promoted it with a photo of stacks of cash on Instagram. The 14-song mixtape includes a track with the title “Shawn Carter,” which is of Jay-Z’s legal name.

Anderson .Paak, who has been enjoying his massive success with Bruno Mars as the duo Silk Sonic, has dropped a new solo song, “Fire in the Sky.” The mid-tempo track about falling in love is featured on Marvel’s Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings soundtrack, which also features Swae Lee, Jhene Aiko, Rick Ross, 21 Savage and Saweetie.

Finally, Bobby Shmurda has shared a new freestyle song, “No Time for Sleep,” his first since being released from prison in February after serving five years for conspiracy to commit murder. The song is his first new solo single in seven years, and he will have a chance to perform it for the first time this weekend at Jay-Z’s Made in America festival in Philadelphia.


Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.