Music News

Maxwell, Ashanti, Silk Sonic and more to perform at the ‘Soul Train Awards’


Maxwell, Ashanti, and Silk Sonic will be among the performers at the 2021 Soul Train Awards.

As previously reported, Maxwell will receive the Legend Award, and Ashanti will be honored with the Lady of Soul Award. Silk Sonic, consisting of Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak, has three nominations for “Leave the Door Open”: Song of the Year, Video of the Year, and the Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award.

The list of performers for the Soul Train Awards includes Ari Lennox, Leon Bridges and Lucky Daye. The annual Soul Cypher, originated by former show host Erykah Badu, will feature D-Nice, Musiq Soulchild, Jac Ross, Koryn Hawthorne, Elle Varner, and Tone Stith. In honor of the 20th anniversary of the late Aaliyah‘s 2001, RIAA double-Platinum, self-titled album, the third single from the project, “Rock the Boat” will be the theme for the cypher.

Presenters at the show will also include H.E.R., who leads all artists with eight nominations, plus Tristan Mack Wilds and the casts of the BET series Games People Play and Sacrifice.

Jazmine Sullivan and Chris Brown follow H.E.R. with six nominations each. For the fourth year in a row, former Martin stars Tisha Campbell and Tichina Arnold will return as co-hosts.

The 2021 Soul Train Awards, which will be held for the first time at the iconic Apollo Theater in New York City, airs Sunday, November 28, at 8 p.m. ET/PT on BET and BET Her.


A post shared by Maxwell (@maxwell)

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.