Music News

K. Michelle reveals one reason why she had plastic surgery: “I felt like the bigger the butt, the bigger the career”

Getty_KMichelle_20222
Paras Griffin/Getty Images

K. Michelle is starring on Lifetime twice this week…in a dramatic film and in a docuseries that she hopes will save lives.

The docuseries, My Killer Body with K. Michelle, premieres on Thursday, February 3, at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT. The Love & Hip Hop star is also featured in the movie Single Black Female, which airs Saturday, February 5, at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT.

My Killer Body tells her painful story of several years of enduring near-fatal plastic surgeries, and she hopes the series will help prevent others from similar suffering. The NAACP Image Award winner says she decided to get silicone-filled injections into her buttocks more than six years ago, because she believed it would enhance her music career.

“I had just got a new record deal and I felt like the bigger the butt, the bigger the career,” Michelle tells Essence. “I already had a big butt. It was just ridiculous.”

The “V.S.O.P.” singer recalls that the injections almost killed her. After undergoing multiple reconstructive surgeries, she now says she’s “probably the healthiest I’ve been in a while.”

“There are several people who’ve gone through this who are just starting to feel the effects of it,” Michelle says about the individuals who are also featured on the series. “You even have women who recently had this procedure and are feeling the effects right away.”

The 39-year-old entertainer warns people to be aware of the consequences when considering cosmetic surgery.

“Just like you research when you want to buy a car, you should definitely research what you’re going to do with your life and your body because you only get one,” Michelle says.

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.