Music News

Barack Obama's 2020 summer playlist features Megan Thee Stallion, Chika, Popcaan, Stevie Wonder & more

Courtesy of Huxley World

Former President Barack Obama has released his annual summer playlist, which this year features Megan Thee StallionRihanna, XXL 2020 Freshman inductee Chika and more. 

The list also features selections from J. Cole, H.E.R., Frank Ocean, Popcaan‘s “Twist & Turn” featuring Drake and PARTYNEXTDOOR, as well as veteran artists including Bob MarleyStevie Wonder and Otis Redding.

“Over the past few months, I’ve spent a lot of time listening to music with my family,” Obama wrote in an Instagram post on Monday. “I wanted to share some of my favorites from the summer — including songs from some of the artists performing at this week’s @DemConvention.”

“As always, it’s a mix of genres that travels through various eras,” he adds. “I think there’s something in here for everybody — hope you enjoy it.”

Performers at this week’s Democratic National Convention, which officially began Monday, include Jennifer Hudson, Billy Porter, Common, Leon Bridges, and John Legend, the latter of whom will perform “Don’t Walk Away,” featuring Jamaican artist Koffee.

“Thank you, Mr. President!” John wrote in the comments of Obama’s post.

The star-studded playlist also includes Childish GambinoOutkast, Summer Walker, KYLE, Beyoncé, Shatta Wale and Major Lazer‘s “Already,” Nina Simone, D’Angelo, and Anderson .Paak‘s protest song “Lockdown,” among many others. 

By Rachel George
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.